KRAZY KATS

Welcome to Krazy Kats - a friendly informal discussion forum: Talk about anything from birth to death - and beyond!

The Video of the Week now showing on Light After Life forum is: 'SCIENCE AND THE SÉANCE (BBC Documentary)'

Latest topics

» Keep a Word - Delete a Word
by Jamboree Today at 03:33

» Guess the word
by Jamboree Today at 03:31

» Simon's Cat
by Kitkat Sun 10 Dec 2017, 18:17

» Kitkat's KK Blog
by Whiskers Wed 06 Dec 2017, 19:27

» Downward Dog
by Kitkat Mon 04 Dec 2017, 21:35

» A very young Bee Gees treat
by Whiskers Wed 29 Nov 2017, 16:35

» Prime cheek!
by Kitkat Tue 28 Nov 2017, 09:32

» The life and achievements of Dr Elsie Inglis
by Kitkat Sun 26 Nov 2017, 09:14

» Limericks
by Whiskers Thu 23 Nov 2017, 17:57

» Hidden disabilities: Pain beneath the surface
by Kitkat Tue 21 Nov 2017, 21:20

» Scary photos
by Kitkat Sun 19 Nov 2017, 12:50

» The 7-year-old neuroscientist wowing the internet
by Kitkat Thu 16 Nov 2017, 10:03

» The cat killer stalking suburbia
by Whiskers Mon 06 Nov 2017, 15:53

» Poetry from the heart.
by Feather Tue 31 Oct 2017, 17:06

» A reader's response to your article on food waste
by Guest Tue 31 Oct 2017, 10:24

» It's that time again .....
by Kitkat Sun 29 Oct 2017, 00:21

» Merry Christmas
by Whiskers Sat 28 Oct 2017, 10:11

» Happy Halloween!
by Stardust Wed 25 Oct 2017, 08:37

» Love makes the world go round
by Stardust Wed 25 Oct 2017, 08:00

» Need help with homework (Hall Effect)
by Kitkat Tue 24 Oct 2017, 12:18

» Well hello there!
by Whiskers Mon 23 Oct 2017, 23:53

» Madeleine McCann investigation continues ...
by Whiskers Mon 23 Oct 2017, 23:43

» Famous Youtubers... Do you watch them? Do you dislike them?
by Jamboree Mon 23 Oct 2017, 00:44

» Delicious and nutritious
by Stardust Fri 20 Oct 2017, 16:02

» Stardust on the Moon
by Stardust Fri 20 Oct 2017, 15:15

» Control your television with any object
by loner55 Mon 16 Oct 2017, 10:32

» Books
by loner55 Mon 16 Oct 2017, 10:30

» Fahrenheit 451
by loner55 Mon 16 Oct 2017, 10:26

» The cartoon thread.
by Kitkat Sun 15 Oct 2017, 20:26

» HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Feather!
by Jamboree Sun 15 Oct 2017, 17:43

» A walk through Dominica, hours after Hurricane Maria
by Kitkat Sun 15 Oct 2017, 12:48

» SKEPS Forum
by Kitkat Sun 08 Oct 2017, 22:00

» Quotes about Lifestye
by Whiskers Sat 07 Oct 2017, 15:25

» MPs call for ESA death statistics to be published (Calum's List)
by Kitkat Sat 30 Sep 2017, 18:23

» Songs from the heart
by Stardust Wed 20 Sep 2017, 20:55

» Bodies of 'hundreds' of children buried in mass grave
by mac Tue 19 Sep 2017, 12:25

» Psychics didn't foresee THAT coming!
by mac Sat 16 Sep 2017, 15:14

» Number 7777
by Kitkat Thu 14 Sep 2017, 14:10

» 'Messy' mum barred from pub
by Stardust Mon 11 Sep 2017, 16:17

» Feather by the sea.
by Stardust Mon 11 Sep 2017, 16:09

» [solved] Multiquote ?
by Whiskers Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:13

» Cosmic beauty
by Stardust Fri 08 Sep 2017, 21:29

» Why men are happier people???
by Stardust Fri 08 Sep 2017, 20:10

» A Granma's Anagrams
by Stardust Fri 08 Sep 2017, 19:49

» Silly Endings.
by Stardust Fri 08 Sep 2017, 19:45

» Pink rainbow
by Stardust Fri 08 Sep 2017, 15:46

» Barking mad!
by Stardust Fri 08 Sep 2017, 15:44

» Invasion of the sex-craved spiders! EEK!
by Stardust Fri 08 Sep 2017, 15:38

» Surviving in Libya
by Kitkat Thu 07 Sep 2017, 22:52

» The Forum Café
by Kitkat Thu 07 Sep 2017, 14:53

» Hurricane Irma
by Kitkat Thu 07 Sep 2017, 12:22

» Struggling To Login
by Kitkat Wed 06 Sep 2017, 17:41

» Kitchen bat chase video goes viral
by Kitkat Wed 06 Sep 2017, 17:21

» 10 things we didn't know last week ...
by Whiskers Mon 04 Sep 2017, 14:31

» End of Summer Drinks
by EndoWarriror Fri 01 Sep 2017, 13:53

» Bruce Forsyth dies aged 89
by EndoWarriror Fri 01 Sep 2017, 13:34

» Notifications re new topics & posts on the forum
by Kitkat Fri 01 Sep 2017, 13:23

» New forum design
by Jamboree Wed 23 Aug 2017, 13:03

» Photobucket
by Jamboree Thu 10 Aug 2017, 02:36

» Hi from Brin
by Whiskers Sun 06 Aug 2017, 12:14

» Delusions
by Kitkat Sun 30 Jul 2017, 12:19

» BABY PLEASE DON'T GO ...
by Jamboree Tue 25 Jul 2017, 16:03

» Wonderful images - fabulous music.
by bimbow Fri 21 Jul 2017, 22:21

» Photobucket no longer free ...
by Kitkat Sat 08 Jul 2017, 11:05

» Problems logging in from your mobile, iPad or tablet?
by Kitkat Wed 05 Jul 2017, 13:05

» Protest March through London
by Kitkat Sat 01 Jul 2017, 17:41

» Our NHS
by Whiskers Thu 29 Jun 2017, 16:49

» [solved] Forum showing me as online -- but I am not!
by Kitkat Sun 25 Jun 2017, 10:41

» Day of Rage in London
by Kitkat Wed 21 Jun 2017, 16:56

» NHS European Health Insurance Card
by Kitkat Tue 20 Jun 2017, 21:26

» Postcards from the Shoutbox
by Whiskers Tue 20 Jun 2017, 13:08

» Shout Box (SL and LAL)
by Kitkat Mon 19 Jun 2017, 22:29

» A day out at the polling station
by Stardust Fri 09 Jun 2017, 14:48

» Functions of the Blue Toolbar at top of the Forum
by Kitkat Mon 05 Jun 2017, 10:47

» Light After Life forum's new address
by Kitkat Thu 01 Jun 2017, 18:42

» Tick tock: The importance of knowing the right time
by Whiskers Thu 01 Jun 2017, 11:23

» Derek Acorah to appear in Celebrity Big Brother 2017 ?
by Kitkat Wed 24 May 2017, 22:38

» Publications
by Kitkat Mon 22 May 2017, 00:46

» The world's longest cat?
by Whiskers Fri 19 May 2017, 09:22

» Nigeria
by Kitkat Fri 19 May 2017, 08:54

» Redwater
by Kitkat Thu 18 May 2017, 17:28

» Maggie's Cancer Care Centres
by Kitkat Wed 17 May 2017, 18:07

» I'm being chased by an otter!
by Kitkat Tue 16 May 2017, 13:07

» Eurovision Song Contest 2017
by Kitkat Tue 16 May 2017, 11:49

» This day in history
by Whiskers Fri 05 May 2017, 16:35

» Man rescues cat from London Docks
by Whiskers Tue 02 May 2017, 11:29

» For all you Elvis lovers
by Whiskers Tue 02 May 2017, 11:23

» The Cat's Pyjamas
by Kitkat Sun 30 Apr 2017, 10:08

» [solved] Problems with FreeForums - AGAIN!
by Kitkat Fri 21 Apr 2017, 23:49

» Nature's Weirdest Events (QUIZ)
by Kitkat Thu 20 Apr 2017, 11:48

» All That We Share
by Jamboree Sat 15 Apr 2017, 20:22

» My niece & namesake - up & coming singer/songwriter
by Jamboree Sat 15 Apr 2017, 20:15

» Strange and amazing places
by Whiskers Fri 14 Apr 2017, 13:54

» Lucky Joe!
by Kitkat Fri 07 Apr 2017, 16:43

» Rules of memory 'beautifully' rewritten
by Kitkat Fri 07 Apr 2017, 11:54

» What one word describes you? (Quiz)
by Whiskers Tue 04 Apr 2017, 22:40

» April Fools
by Kitkat Sat 01 Apr 2017, 22:44

» Happy St Patricks Day
by Jamboree Sat 01 Apr 2017, 00:10

» Terror Attack in London, UK
by Kitkat Tue 28 Mar 2017, 22:28

Top posting users this week

Who is online?

In total there are 5 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 5 Guests :: 1 Bot

None


[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 76 on Mon 23 Feb 2015, 18:29

Top posters

Kitkat (3318)
 
Whiskers (1139)
 
Stardust (1132)
 
Feather (1017)
 
Umberto Cocopop (369)
 
bimbow (306)
 
Jamboree (272)
 
lar-lar (128)
 
Pixie (105)
 
Curious (77)
 

Visit our Guest Book here:

Guestbook

Top posting users this month

Light After Life Forum



Exploring the mysteries of
life, death .... and beyond


New address for Light After Life:
https://lightafterlife.forumotion.com/

No such word as 'cant ' ... or is there ...?

Share
avatar
Kitkat
Admin
Admin

Female

Posts : 3318
Points : 11953
Join date : 2011-03-19
Location : Around the bend
Star sign : Sagittarius
Chinese zodiac : Rat

No such word as 'cant ' ... or is there ...?

Post by Kitkat on Sat 10 Jan 2015, 13:44

I was most perturbed, indignant even - to find such a grammatical error contained in the daily changing 'Quote of the Day'
'My dear friend, clear your mind of cant.'   angry

Particularly peeved, as the author of the quote to which they referred was no less than Samuel Johnson

(from Wiki:  "Dr Johnson was an English writer who made lasting contributions to English literature as a poet, essayist, moralist, literary critic, biographer, editor and lexicographer.
Johnson has been described as "arguably the most distinguished man of letters in English history".
)


How dare they sully the widely respected reputation of this literary icon, I thought, with such an unforgiveable folly (to miss out the apostrophe in the word can't ?
Indeed, such was my ire, I was all set and ready to have a right go at the compilers of 'Quote of the Day' , pointing out their disgraceful error ....

Luckily, before going through with my stick-wielding rant, I remembered that the word 'cant' had another meaning and, after looking up further - found an extra definition which up until now I had not been aware of.  That meaning, for sure, is what the [correctly quoted] quote today refers to.   giggle

study  
noun: cant

   1.   hypocritical and sanctimonious talk, typically of a moral, religious, or political nature.
   "he had no time for the cant of the priests about sin"

synonyms: hypocrisy, sanctimoniousness, sanctimony, humbug, pietism, affected piety, insincerity, sham, lip service, empty talk, pretence;
More rare Pharisaism, Tartufferie
   "religious cant"

antonyms: sincerity

   2.     language specific to a particular group or profession and regarded with disparagement.
   "thieves' cant"

   synonyms: slang, jargon, idiom, argot, patter, patois, vernacular, speech, terminology, language;

More informal lingo, -speak, -ese
   "thieves' cant"
       denoting a phrase or catchword temporarily current or in fashion.
       modifier noun: cant
       "‘herstories’ rather than ‘histories’ as the cant phrase goes"

verb
dated
verb: cant; 3rd person present: cants; past tense: canted; past participle: canted; gerund or present participle: canting

   1.  talk hypocritically and sanctimoniously about something.
   "if they'd stop canting about ‘honest work’ they might get somewhere"

Origin
early 16th century: probably from Latin cantare ‘to sing’ (see chant). The early meaning was ‘musical sound, singing’; in the mid 17th century this gave rise to the senses ‘whining manner of speaking’ and ‘form of words repeated mechanically in such a manner’ (for example a beggar's plea), hence ‘jargon’ (of beggars and other such groups).

cant2
kant/
verb
verb: cant; 3rd person present: cants; past tense: canted; past participle: canted; gerund or present participle: canting

   1.  have or cause to have a slanting or oblique position; tilt.
   "he canted his head to look at the screen"
   
synonyms: tilt, lean, slant, slope, incline, angle, be at an angle;

More
   tip, list, bank, heel
   "the deck canted some twenty degrees"
       (of a ship) swing round.
       "the ship canted to starboard"
       synonyms: tilt, lean, slant, slope, incline, angle, be at an angle; More
       tip, list, bank, heel
       "the deck canted some twenty degrees"

noun
noun: cant; plural noun: cants

   1.  a slope or tilt.
   "the outward cant of the curving walls"
   
synonyms: slope, slant, tilt, angle, inclination
   "the outward cant of the curving walls"
   2. a wedge-shaped block of wood, especially one remaining after the better-quality pieces have been cut off.
   "a squared-off cant remains, containing the knottiest wood"

Origin
Middle English (denoting an edge or brink): from Middle Low German kant, kante, Middle Dutch cant ‘point, side, edge’, based on a Romance word related to medieval Latin cantus ‘corner, side’.

Cant.
abbreviation
symbol: Cant.

   Canticles (the Song of Songs) (in biblical references).


Ah well ..... you learn something every day. rabbit

and business as usual for Quote of the Day.
(btw - for those who might not be aware - you can click into the link of the named author of the quote each day to find out more quotes from that particular named person)

    Current date/time is Thu 14 Dec 2017, 18:38